An Update✨

Hello Everyone, and very much Welcome Back to Grandma’s House. I know it’s been a minute since my last post; life hasn’t been much less hectic for me, but it has been less. Over the passed few months I’ve had Scooter troubles, money troubles, and sleep troubles. when I finally got all this worked out and settled by the beginning of August, I signed up for this Singles Community thing called Events & Adventures.

There were moments that gave me a bad feeling (like the three different unknown numbers messaging me after I signed up on their site; asking questions stating its supposed to be a pre-interview before their meeting with you), but overall I thought it was ok and worth it. 30 minutes after this supposedly private at home zoom call (where I was alone at home), giving one of their representatives my card details in order to sign up, my card details got stolen and hundreds of dollars were stolen via unauthorized transactions. I contacted my bank, got the card changed/disputes submitted, and then I had to physically go through the contract given to me by E&A and figure out how to cancel. News flash for anyone thinking of signing up; you have three days to cancel through certified mail with return receipt requested.

I did this all that day lol the contacting of my bank, the sending of the cancelation letter, etc. so I am very proud of myself for taking initiative and handling everything. I used to be afraid of having to do phone calls, wether it was for doctors or pizza lol, but after all this I am far more confident in myself in a lot of ways. Anyway, I got it all done the day I signed up on Aug. 4th, but I didn’t hear anything from them until I sent an email asking for further details about cancelation then I sent another letter. Mind you I sent this email to the woman that supposedly oversaw my state, but not once did I receive follow up with that person. Each time I hear from these people it’s an unknown number, and someone completely new.

Well long story short each rep. I got a hold of has either been combative, dismissive, condescending, or just plain accusatory. They all pretty much stated the same business lines about the contract they have members sign and how it clearly states this, and liability this, and settlement that blah, blah, blah.

So I started researching because something about that whole situation just screams bullshit to me, idk about you guys. Thankfully I am a powerful, blessed, and divine super being lol so I did my research. Their cancelation policy reads like the Cooling-Off Rule under the Fair Trade Commissions Act. Under this rule consumers have a purchase protection on certain purchases under certain circumstances and have the ability to cancel or return this purchase within 3 days by registered post, etc. In this Rule however it specifically states the consumer must be informed of how to cancel, and be provided with 2 copies of cancelation forms (1 to keep, and 1 to send) at point of sale (among other rulers).

Not only was this not done but when I asked the representative during my sign up call about cancellations, he never answered me, and instead detailed the company’s “freezing” process saying it was the same thing. Never got any documents either. The woman I got a call from the first time after my email even went so far as to state they make it their policy not to mention cancelations, unless expressly asked. So honestly I really don’t know how valid that contract is for me, if they themselves don’t follow the rules. I am grateful that I actually have the ability to go and get legal consultation over the matter, and have taken steps in handling a very stressful and precarious situation by following up/talking with a therapist.

Honestly they’ve threatened with the use of legal words, but ultimately I’ll let the shit go to collections and deal with those people before I deal with the people of Events & Adventures. They’ve apparently been around a long time and have many positive testimonials of people meeting their one, but the people I have dealt with in the company have not been kind or pleasant outside of when they were taking my money at sign up. They don’t care in the least about my experience, stating their names aren’t on anything so they aren’t responsible, and I need to continue paying or else essentially. I’m just no longer comfortable working with them. I’m not alone either by the way; there are other negative comments and claims on BBB as well, but ultimately this is my situation and I can only handle it to the best of my autistic capabilities (still haven’t found my ceiling yet guys lol).

I can say that I was surprised by my own expectations in handling everything; from the phone calls to everybody, to the booking of appointments with everybody lol. I mean I called the bank, sent two letters with special regards, filed a business complaint, booked a legal consultation, and then followed up with two doctor visits lol I really am stronger than I am seem, smarter than I think, and braver than I believe. I could not be more thankful for the resources afforded me through work, and how they’ve helped me handle these passed couple of weeks. The Therapist this time around hasn’t been awesome, but again having that go to has been a blessing.

Even if I haven’t enjoyed the therapist I have enjoyed the release of talking to someone about what I’m going through, and to have someone remind me the healthy loving things I do for myself keep me on track with balancing out after an upset. You might not always jive with your therapist folks, just be sure you note that and address it. Don’t just get discouraged and stop going, you are worth it to keep your commitments to yourself. I’ve been doing Yoga, Pilates, Dancing, catching up on shows, catching up on movies, books, and of course writing. I do really love to write, and I miss it…but if you read my last post then you can understand me fessing up and saying that I’m scared to. I don’t want to repeat what happened, but I do want to have a space of my own again.

So thank you all for reading again; I hope you continue to read as much as I hope I continue to write lol Be on the look out for some new “Books” coming to the library in Grandma’s House soon :3. Until Next Time.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started